PDA

View Full Version : Bin-bound recyclables made into handbound notebook :D

magiceight
24-12-2008, 07:13 PM
I've just finished making this notebook as a Christmas pressie for my mum - it's my first attempt at making one and I'm really happy with how it's turned out.

It's made from cereal boxes & cardboard, old magazines, school copy books my son never used, and some scraps of paper and card I had left over from other projects. Cost me nothing but the price of the thread!

I'll post a detailed tutorial soon, in the meantime here's a video with instructions for the coptic stitch used for binding. It looks daunting but it's actually nice and easy once you get going :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHAJyzzb4EE&feature=channel_page

Chris P
24-12-2008, 07:16 PM
A fabulous and unique piece of work, magiceight. Well done!

Regards
Chris P
Admin

jeana
24-12-2008, 07:31 PM
I remember when I was a child, I took some A4 pages and folded them over and made a cover out of cardboard and then I stitched it together with a needle and thread- wow I was so proud of myself, I still remember the feel of the book- nice memories only topped by the time I got a jewellery making set that had resin and some other liquid and you had to mix the two liquids and it hardened clear so I placed stones in them- that was the business- does anyone know where I could get a similar kit- I'd say the fumes are a bit dangerous for little kids, but I'd love to help my daughters to make some similar items.
Well done on your notebook- it's fab

Jeana

magiceight
24-12-2008, 07:36 PM
Oh - just yesterday I saw a resin kit in the Art & Hobby shop in Dun Laoghaire. I'd been wondering where to get my hands on some. I didn't buy it but am going to next time I'm there, never worked with resin before so not sure how safe it'd be for children...

kiara
24-12-2008, 07:42 PM