JumbleTown Ireland

JumbleTown Ireland (http://www.jumbletown.ie/forums/index.php)
-   Green Tips & Green Fingers (http://www.jumbletown.ie/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=42)
-   -   Bin-bound recyclables made into handbound notebook :D (http://www.jumbletown.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=40650)

magiceight 24-12-2008 07:13 PM

Bin-bound recyclables made into handbound notebook :D

4 Attachment(s)
I've just finished making this notebook as a Christmas pressie for my mum - it's my first attempt at making one and I'm really happy with how it's turned out.

It's made from cereal boxes & cardboard, old magazines, school copy books my son never used, and some scraps of paper and card I had left over from other projects. Cost me nothing but the price of the thread!

I'll post a detailed tutorial soon, in the meantime here's a video with instructions for the coptic stitch used for binding. It looks daunting but it's actually nice and easy once you get going :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHAJy...e=channel_page

Chris P 24-12-2008 07:16 PM

from Admin

A fabulous and unique piece of work, magiceight. Well done!

Regards
Chris P
Admin

jeana 24-12-2008 07:31 PM

I remember when I was a child, I took some A4 pages and folded them over and made a cover out of cardboard and then I stitched it together with a needle and thread- wow I was so proud of myself, I still remember the feel of the book- nice memories only topped by the time I got a jewellery making set that had resin and some other liquid and you had to mix the two liquids and it hardened clear so I placed stones in them- that was the business- does anyone know where I could get a similar kit- I'd say the fumes are a bit dangerous for little kids, but I'd love to help my daughters to make some similar items.
Well done on your notebook- it's fab

Jeana

magiceight 24-12-2008 07:36 PM